Deseret News reviews “The Hero Doctrine”

IMG_20160209_135417048

Unfortunately, my first major review is not wholly positive. Instead of focusing on the parables, or the insights, or the personal stories, she focuses on what she perceives as a lack of cohesion. I do not seem to know exactly what it is I’m trying to say.

I would like to gently point out to Jennifer Ball that she just described exactly what I’m trying to say—I aim to inspire greatness, to awaken the reader to their duty and potential, and to give them a new, higher perspective on the world, themselves, and the stories they read and watch. It’s all pretty much there in the introduction.

That being said, I do not dispute that there is some lack of cohesion. I get that. I really do! Each chapter was originally written as a separate, distinct talk. They weren’t all meant to go together. The structure wasn’t found until I was two-thirds done with all of them.

But it saddens me that that’s her main takeaway, and the thing she wants her readers to come away with the most about the book.

There are some positive takeaways that I hope readers of the review will note. My brother-in-law, who alerted me to the review, pointed out that she called me “a promising young author” and that my insights are “timely, relevant and unique.” I’ll take that as a talisman against the dark thoughts that will no doubt be tumbling down my over-sensitive bipolar mind. If you want to help, please leave your support in the comments, and/or post a positive review on Amazon, and/or post about the book on your Facebook page. Since this review is the only way a lot of people are going to hear about the book, I’d love any help you can offer in giving people alternative, more positive channels to The Hero Doctrine.

Guys, I don’t want to be one of those authors that responds personally to every negative review he gets. I’m not that guy, but this is the only significant review I’ve received so far, and I felt compelled to (briefly) defend the work that I’ve performed over many years, work done solely to help other people understand and appreciate the gospel more deeply.

Thankfully, I do believe that a very positive review is right around the corner. More on that in the coming days…

One thought on “Deseret News reviews “The Hero Doctrine”

  1. Reviews, both positive and negative, are part of being a professional author. They go with the territory. You’re never going to please everybody, and this sounds like it’s really more positive than negative. A lot of pro writers don’t even read reviews, and responding to a negative one screams “Amateur!” One of the first reviews on my first novel years ago, published in THE magazine of the sci-fi/fantasy publishing industry, made it quite clear that the reviewer hadn’t even read the entire book but had skipped through it. I mentally drafted a response–note *mentally*; I never actually wrote or sent it–to get it out of my system, and then I pressed on. There are always trolls. And the better known you become, the more trolls there will be. No need to be despondent. Look at what Jesus Christ and Joseph Smith faced. Those who have “eyes to see” and “ears to hear” will receive the intended messages, and that’s what really counts. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

